The Four Elements of Astrology and Their Meaning

From ancient civilizations to the modern day, the four elements of matter — Earth, Water, Air, and Fire — have represented different aspects of nature and energy forces in our world. Each of the twelve zodiac signs is associated with one of the four elements. The significance of the elements for the individual zodiac reveals fundamental aspects of one’s personality. Open your mind and discover what element your zodiac sign is and what it all means.

Fire ♈︎ ♐︎ ♌︎

Zodiac signs that share this masculine element are Aries, Sagittarius, and Leo. People with the fire element are spontaneous, impulsive, and courageous. Though these three signs embody the same fire element, they all have a subtle difference that sets them apart. 

Aries A natural leader and innovator. They spend no time in the past and focus only on the present and future. 

Sagittarius - A mutable fire sign, meaning they are more adaptable and flexible than the others. They are often spiritual leaders with their determination. 

Leo A fixed fire sign and exudes passion and loyalty, which makes them excellent managers. 

The fiery energy of this element empowers their creativity and desires. Dare to be bold and adventurous with the Flaming Hot Pendant as it captivates the bold and masculine spirit of the fire element. 

Earth ♍︎ ♉︎ ♑︎

As the most grounded element of the four, Earth signs are practical, reliable, and sensual. These pragmatic qualities make this earthy sign prone to deep connection. They also respond well to things they can physically touch and see. 

Virgo  they are known for being hard-working and rational, making them an excellent choice when it comes to tasks that require a lot of concentration and routine activities. 

Taurus the most pragmatic of them all, utilizing resources to builds things to perfection. 

Capricorn is skilled at managing things. They also tend to be on the stricter side of leadership, especially when following rules and guidelines. 

All Earth signs lean into the feminine or yin-charged group, similar to water signs. People with this sign are deeply rooted and react quietly and slowly. The beauty of the Earth comes in many different forms. Manifest the grounding energy of the Earth with the In the Tropics Pendant.

Air ♎︎ ♒︎ ♊︎

Libra, Aquarius and Gemini embody the intellectual and social traits of the Air sign. They are humanitarians, fair-minded, apply their energies in diverse ways, and remain level-headed in any situation.

Libra  loves equilibrium and organization. They find beauty in symmetry and order. 

Aquarius is the most fixed sign out of all air signs with non-conforming ideologies and a free-spirited attitude. 

Gemini the most adaptable air sign, making them the social butterflies of the group.

Air signs fall into masculine or yang energy, just like fire signs. These signs trust in the universe and allow it to sway them in any direction and remain at peace with whatever happens. The Hula Dancer Pendant expresses the confidence and free-spirited attitude Air signs have, also swaying in any direction while remaining graceful. 

Water ♋︎ ♓️ ♏︎

Water signs are fluid, emotional, and intuitive. People with water elements rely on their emotions rather than logic. The fluidity of this sign makes them sensitive and innate to their feelings.  

Cancer has a deeper connection with origins at home. They are experts in nurturing and cherishing family. 

Pisces is an extremely sensitive sign, making them compassionate and spiritual. 

Scorpio has an intense understanding of deep desires, motivations, and intimate connections. They are very passionate about their belief and principles. 

Water signs seek deeper meanings and feel their way through situations. They are healers. All Water signs stay afloat through the whirling waves of life wearing the Surf's Up Sea Turtle Pendant

“The four elements are indeed the essence of life. All animals, plants, non-living objects, and energies are combinations of these elements and, of course, so are we. Everything has its own unique blend of the four elements in it: everything that has substance has Earth in it; everything that flows and has feelings has Water in it; everything that involves sound, thinking, or communication has Air in it; and everything that has energy has Fire in it.”

The origins of the four elements: Air and fire. SCIplanet (n.d.)

Back to blog

1 comment

This was quite interesting. I like how you chose a necklace to represent each element.


Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.